Waterside Cafe, Craigieburn

We have been to this cafe a few time as it is nearby and on the local lake and it quite a pleasant environment, when you can get a table.  If you leave it too late you may find there is nowhere to sit.  It isn’t an overly small cafe, but due to its lovely location it is popular.

I have only ever ordered the eggs benedict with bacon at this cafe and so cannot even offer an idea of what their other food is like. My husband used to order other meals but after having tried EB only recently he now happily eats them with me and we compare notes about our experiences. I wouldn’t say we have the same tastes, but they are similar and I have much higher expectations than him when it comes to EB.

Waterside Cafe 1

This place is consistently good, you get nicely poached eggs (very little undercooked whites) with runny yolks and barely any excess water.  The bacon is sufficient, although as everyone knows you could never have too much bacon with a meal so I always appreciate a serve that has full rashers instead of short cut.  The hollandaise is thick and plentiful, but with the curry after taste I dislike.  I didn’t receive any garnish (my husband did) and the bread it was served on wasn’t buttered;  which made it feel slightly dry, if you didn’t smother it with either hollandaise or yummy yolk.

Check out their Facebook page for more information.

Taking into account my previous experiences at this cafe and their consistancy over the past 12 months of attendance, I am going to rate them in the middle with a solid 3 eggs! I will continue to go back there as they always hit the spot. 

egg-sunny-side-up-3c

egg-sunny-side-up-3cegg-sunny-side-up-3c

Leave a Reply

